Author Archives: Buda

Out-Foxed

304 Views

outfoxedTitle: Out-Foxed (Skyler Foxe Mysteries #3)
Author: Haley Walsh
Cover Artist: Winterheart Designs
Publisher: MLR Press
Amazon Buy Link
Genre: Mystery, Contemporary, Romantic Comedy
Length: Novel (91,000 words)
Rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

A guest review by Buda

Summary Review: This third installment of the on-going Skyler Foxe Mysteries series wraps up the biggest mystery of the trilogy so far: who is doing nefarious things at the school and just what are those things. As always, it’s a fun and entertaining adventure with Skyler. If you haven’t read the first two books in the series, go back and do that, then pick up this one.

***This review contains what might be considered spoilers for the first two books in the series.***

Continue reading

Foxe Hunt

1,328 Views

Title: Foxe Hunt (Skyler Foxe Mysteries #2)
Author: Haley Walsh
Cover Artist: Deana C Jamroz
Publisher: MLR Press
Amazon Buy Link
Genre: Mystery, Contemporary, Romantic Comedy
Length: Novel (78,000 words)
Rating: 4.75 out of 5 stars

A guest review by Buda

Summary Review: Book 2 of the Skyler Foxe Mysteries lives up to and exceeds the promise of the first, Foxe Tail. This is one of those instances I’d like to encourage the author to write faster! Book 3 cannot come soon enough.

***This review contains what may be spoilers to the first book.***

Continue reading

Blood and Tears

981 Views

Title: Blood & Tears
Author: Ethan Stone
Cover Artist: Catt Ford
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Amazon Buy Link: Blood & Tears
Genre: Contemporary M/M, Mystery, GFY
Length: Novel (310 paperback pages, word count unlisted)
Rating: 4.25 out of 5

A guest review by Buda

Summary Review: A fun and entertaining sequel to (In the Flesh and) Flesh & Blood (reviews linked), but this time the focus is on Gabe Vargas and FBI Agent Drew Bradley. A different but worthy continuation to the Flesh series.

Continue reading

Out of the Woods

1,596 Views

Title: Out of the Woods
Author: Syd McGinley
Cover Artist: Alessia Brio
Publisher: Torquere Press
Amazon Buy Link: Out of the Woods
Genre: Science fiction, M/M
Length: Novel (290 pages, 80,300 words)
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A guest review by Buda

Summary Review: Extraordinary world-building enhances an endearing and enthralling tale.

Continue reading

No Apologies

1,055 Views

Title & URL: No Apologies
Author: Tibby  Armstrong
Cover Artist: Justin James
Publisher: Loose Id
Amazon Buy Link: NA
Genre: Contemporary M/M
Length: Novel (word count unlisted)
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

A guest review by Buda

Summary Review: Though not without its problems, this book is a compelling story of two boys finding themselves and their way to each other.

Continue reading

A.J.’s Angel

1,200 Views

Title: A.J.’s Angel
Author: L.A. Witt
Cover Artist: Valerie Tibbs
Amazon Pre-Order Link: A.J.’s Angel
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Genre: Contemporary M/M
Length: Novella (word count unlisted)
Rating: 4.25 of 5 stars

A guest review by Buda

Summary Review: A hot and steamy second-chance romance with a winning protagonist.

Continue reading

Foxe Tail

1,616 Views

Title & Link: Foxe Tail (Skyler Foxe Mysteries #1)
Author: Haley Walsh
Cover Artist: Deana C Jamroz
Buy Link (Kindle): Foxe Tail (A Skyler Foxe Mystery)
Publisher: MLR Press
Genre: Mystery, Contemporary
Length: Novel, 288 pages (79,000+ words)
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

A guest review by Buda

Summary Review: A promising start to a fun and funny new mystery series featuring a gay high school English Literature teacher. I’m already looking forward to book 2.

***This review contains what might be considered spoilers.***

Continue reading

Breaking Logan’s Laws

1,334 Views

Title & Link: Breaking Logan’s Laws (Quinn Security #4)
Author: Cameron Dane
Cover Artist: Anne Cain
Amazon Buy Link: NA
Publisher: Loose Id
Genre: Contemporary M/M, Suspense
Length: Novel (word count not listed)
Rating: 2.75 out of 5 stars

A guest review by Buda

Summary Review: The stimulant 5-hour Energy is more subtle than this book, which, unlike Dane’s previous work, I struggled hard to like.

Continue reading

Tyler’s Cowboy

1,543 Views

Title: Tyler’s Cowboy
Author: Amber Kell
Cover Artist: Posh Gosh
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Amazon Buy Link: NA
Genre: Contemporary M/M, Cowboy
Length: Novella (word count unlisted)
Rating: 2.75 out of 5 stars

A guest review by Buda

Summary Review: A simple, sweet story of a straight cowboy falling for his business partner’s little brother is marred by melodrama, unrealistic scenes and a too-short timeline.

Continue reading

Clouds and Rain

2,441 Views

Title: Clouds and Rain
Author: Zahra Owens
Cover Artist: Anne Cain
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Buy Link (Kindle): Clouds and Rain
Buy Link (Paperback): Clouds and Rain
Genre: Cowboy, Contemporary M/M
Length: Novel (250 pages, word count unlisted)
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

A guest review by Buda

Summary Review: What begins as a fun cowboy-on-cowboy tale loses steam about midway, then jumps the shark around three-fourths through and becomes an infertility tale about a secondary character.

Continue reading

Flesh and Blood

1,764 Views

Title: Flesh & Blood (Flesh #2)
Author: Ethan Stone
Cover Artist: Justin James
Buy Link Kindle: Flesh & Blood
Buy Link Paperback: Flesh & Blood
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Genre: Contemporary M/M, Mystery/Suspense
Length: Novel (240 pages, word count unlisted)
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

A guest review by Buda

Summary Review: The continuation of Cristian Flesh’s story finds him investigating a case that forces him to confront the many demons of his past. Cristian, the man of many rules, may be forced to break them all before he finds peace.

Continue reading

Paris A to Z

2,075 Views

Title: Paris A to Z (Coda #6)
Author: Marie Sexton
Cover Artist: Anne Cain
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Genre: Contemporary M/M
Length: Novella (106 pages; word count unlisted)
Rating: 5+ out of 5 stars, DIK

A guest review by Buda

Summary Review: Possibly the last installment in the series has all three of the couples together in a hilarious and heartrending book that might have been subtitled The Guys Grow Up.

Continue reading

The Truth of Yesterday

2,021 Views

Title: The Truth of Yesterday
Author: Josh Aterovis
Cover Design: Josh Aterovis
Buy Link: The Truth of Yesterday
Publisher: P.D. Publishing, Inc.
Genre: Murder Mystery, Paranormal, Contemporary M/M, YA
Length: Novel (376 paperback pages)
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

A guest review by Buda

Summary Review: The fourth Killian Kendall mystery is a worthy continuation of a fun and energetic series.

Continue reading

Nothing Ever Happens

2,600 Views

Title: Nothing Ever Happens
Author: Sue Brown
Cover Artist: Reese Dante
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Buy Link Kindle: Nothing Ever Happens
Buy Link Paperback: Nothing Ever Happens
Genre: Contemporary M/M
Length: Novel (280 pages, word count unlisted)
Rating: 5+ out of 5 stars, DIK

A guest review by Buda

Summary Review: Andrew and Nathan struggle through seven long years, three marriages, children, a death, and a nosy neighbor with a clipboard to finally get their Happy Ever After. Beautifully drawn characters and an epic love make this book so worth suffering along with them.

***This review contains what might be considered spoilers.***

Continue reading

Bermuda Heat (L.A. #5)

1,165 Views

Title & Link: Bermuda Heat (L.A. #5)
Author: PA Brown
Publisher: MLR Press
Buy Link: Bermuda Heat (L.A. Series) (Kindle); Bermuda Heat (Paperback)
Genre: Murder Mystery, Contemporary M/M
Length: Novel (73,000 words, 260 paperback pages)
Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

A guest review by Buda

Summary Review: The blurb for this fifth installment in the LA Heat series carried a lot of promise for fans of David and Chris. Unfortunately, the book is a massive disappointment.

***This review contains what might be considered spoilers.***

Continue reading